SDHBA Board Of Directors Busy This Summer

The SDHBA Board of Directors met in Aberdeen July 17-18. Attendance was very good and progress was made in several areas. The Board voted to create a new committee—the Workforce Development Committee. This committee will work on an ongoing issue that is very important to SDHBA. We have been involved throughout this year in the Governor’s Workforce Development Summits, and the officers met with the Governor last February to voice our commitment to the subject.

Our Awards Committee was pleased to announce several awards for 2014, that will be presented at the 35th Annual Convention in Watertown in November. The Builder of the Year Award will be presented to Dennis Arnold from Watertown. The Associate of the Year will be presented to Todd Boots from Tea. The Board Member of the Year will be presented to Lynn Mennis from Brookings. Three individuals will be inducted into the SDHBA Hall of Fame in November—George Houtman from Brookings, Jim Tolley from Black Hawk, and Cindy Sheehan from Sioux Falls. In celebrating the 35th Anniversary of SDHBA, there will be a first. Two individuals will receive SDHBA’s highest award, the SDHBA Lifetime Achievement Award–Terry Konechne from Sioux Falls and Dave Asbridge from Rapid City.